Company AS 19800: fined $5,000, mass, 23 April 2024
Party
- Party
- Company AS 19800. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 19800
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Fairfield Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 23 April 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
- Charges
- 1
Facts
On 1 December 2023 at approximately 8:46am, an NHVR Safety and Compliance Officer conducted a compliance check on a heavy vehicle. The vehicle consisted of a loaded 3-axle tipper and a 3-axle dog trailer. During the check, the officer weighed the vehicle, revealing a gross weight of 61.20 tonnes. This weight included severe risk breaches on all axles: the first axle at 6.85 tonnes, the second axle at 22.40 tonnes, the third axle at 11.45 tonnes, and the fourth axle at 20.50 tonnes. The officer determined that the driver's employer was responsible for the overloaded vehicle and instructed the driver to continue driving. Consequently, the Regulator charged the employer for allowing the driver to operate an overweight heavy vehicle.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $5,000
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Educational point
Identify the mass requirements that apply to each heavy vehicle and communicate this to relevant staff, including loaders and drivers.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-0059af1e7d86, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.