Company AS 12839: fined $23,000, mass, 3 March 2026
Party
- Party
- Company AS 12839. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 12839
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- County Court of Victoria at Melbourne (District or County)
- Jurisdiction
- Victoria
- Hearing date
- 3 March 2026
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c), s 102(1)(b)(iii)
- Offence
- Mass
- Charges
- 3
Facts
This was an appeal by a corporate Defendant against a Conviction and Sentence following a plea of guilty to offences of exceeding matter and two dimension limits. The Magistrates’ Court at Ringwood convicted and fined the defendant on 27 February 2025. On the date of the appeal the Defendant withdrew the Conviction appeal. On 27 July 2023 NHVR authorised officers intercepted a Kenworth prime mover towing a dolly, trailer and jinker. It was loaded with a concrete beam. The heavy vehicle was weighed on a weighbridge, and the driver produced an OSOM permit to the authorised officers. The permit was not complied with due to the following: Dimensions and axle spacings; Axle mass limits; and The minimum number of pilot vehicles required to accompany the vehicle. The heavy vehicle was then assessed against the statutory mass and dimension limits and found to be in breach of the following: fail to comply with mass requirements (severe risk breach) – gross vehicle mass. fail to comply with dimension requirements (severe risk breach) – length. fail to comply with dimension requirements (severe risk breach) – width.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $23,000
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters. Fines under s 102(1)(b)(iii) on the register: $500 to $70,000, median $6,300 across 40 matters.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Mass | VIC | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-019a9eaa811a, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.