← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Company AS 19497: fined $20,000, fatigue, 11 February 2025

Party

Party
Company AS 19497. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Company
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 19497

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Downing Centre Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
11 February 2025
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 604
Offence
Fatigue

Facts

On 7 March 2023, at the Downing Centre Local Court, the Company was convicted and fined a total of $3,000 for two breaches of the HVNL. The offences related to the Company failing to produce documents and information to the NHVR over a protracted period of time. The Court also made a Supervisory Intervention Order (SIO) for one year. The SIO required the Company to provide its employees and contractors with training approved by the NHVR; provide its drivers with Electronic Work Diaries (EWD); and give records of EWD use to the NHVR. The Company initially notified the NHVR of its current employees and contracted drivers but failed to provide training or ensure EWDs were used. Despite repeated attempts by the NHVR to assist the Company to comply with the SIO, it failed to do so. The prosecution of the Company for failing to comply with the SIO demonstrates the importance the NHVR places on SIOs.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$20,000

Fines under s 604 on the register: $4,500 to $20,000, median $12,000 across 3 matters.

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $38,000 11 November 2024 View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024
Profect Construction Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $45,000 4 November 2025 View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-049cb90108eb, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.