Company AS 65295: fined $60,000, mass, 5 March 2026
Party
- Party
- Company AS 65295. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 65295
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Lithgow Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 5 March 2026
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
On 10 December 2025, authorised officers of the NHVR observed a heavy vehicle, namely a Mitsubishi prime mover, towing a trailer travelling on the Great Western Highway at Mount Boyce in New South Wales. The authorised officers intercepted the vehicle, spoke to the driver, and inspected the vehicle, its components, and its load. The vehicle's permitted axle mass was 9.00 tonnes. The vehicle's axle mass was weighed at 12.34 tonnes. Taking into account the applicable mass adjustment, the vehicle's alleged axle mass was 11.94 tonnes, an excess mass of excess mass tonnes, or an overload of 132.6%. The contravention of the vehicle's permitted mass resulted in a severe risk breach. Their Honour noted the facts, the company's history and that there is a need for general and specific deterrence. Their Honour noted the company has not shown remorse, continued to reoffend and are not learning their lesson. Driving with a greater load presents a real risk to the other users on the road.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $60,000
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-074409d05683, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.