← The register · Vehicle standards
Defendant · no NHVR reference: fined $3,000, vehicle standards, 14 July 2021
Party
- Party
- Defendant · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Role
- Operator
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Berri Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- South Australia
- Hearing date
- 14 July 2021
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 91(1)
- Offence
- Vehicle standards
- Charges
- 4
Facts
A vehicle was observed travelling in Yamba. It was diagnostically tested. It was revealed that the engine control module/emission control system was tampered with through reprogramming. This resulted in a non-compliant emission control system. Specifically, the design rules and standards were not being complied with for the heavy vehicle. As a result of the inspection, a further 3 heavy vehicles belonging to the Defendant were inspected. It was also revealed that the engine control module/emission control system had been tampered with for these heavy vehicles. All 4 heavy vehicles were issued with major defect notices. The Defendant paid approximately $32,594 to qualified mechanics to rectify the major defects. This was to ensure the vehicles had compliant emission control systems. The Defendant had no relevant prior convictions. Penalty: Fine: $3,000 global penalty; Plus prosecution fees, Victims of Crime (VOC) levy and court costs
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $3,000
Prior history
The source states no prior history.
What the record would have shown
Each defect check and repair, dated, with the repair recorded before the vehicle went back to work. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Primary duty | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-17d6e66ff468, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.