Individual AS 32467: fined $15,400, fatigue, 9 August 2024
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 32467. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 32467
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 9 August 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(b), s 325(1)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 5
Facts
On 13 February 2024, the defendant’s National Driver Work Diary demonstrated that the defendant had only rested for 5 hours in a 24 hour period which was a critical breach On 15 February 2024, the defendant’s National Driver Work Diary demonstrated that the defendant had only rested for 5.25 hours in a 24 hour period which was a critical breach. Between 7:30am on 19 February and 7:30am on 20 February 2024, the defendant’s National Driver Work Diary demonstrated that they had only rested for 2.5 hours in a 24 hour period, which was a critical breach. On 22 February 2024, the defendant made a false and misleading entry in their National Driver Work Diary. The defendant recorded that they left Blaxland, NSW on 22 February 2024 at 6:00am however they were intercepted at the Mount Boyce Heavy Vehicle Safety Station at 6:19am. Unless the defendant was travelling at an average of in excess of 162km/h, it was impossible for them to cover that distance in that timeframe. Between 6:00am on 28 February and 6:00am on 29 February 2024, the defendant’s National Driver Work Diary demonstrated that they had only rested for 4 hours in a 24 hour period, which was a critical breach.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $15,400
Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-19f266e54b77, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.