← The register · Mass

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Defendant · no NHVR reference: fined $2,750, mass, 14 July 2021

Party

Party
Defendant · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Role
Role not stated

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Townsville Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
Queensland
Hearing date
14 July 2021
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 96(1) 1
Offence
Mass

Facts

On 24 September 2020, Transport Inspectors intercepted a heavy combination carrying a 46-tonne excavator on the Flinders Highway, which was directed to the Woodstock mobile weigh site. When questioned about mass permits, the defendant produced a copy of the NHVR Notice – Multi-State Class 1 Load Carrying Vehicle Mass Exemption Notice 2019. This 2019 Mass Exemption Notice had been rescinded by the equivalent 2020 Mass Exemption Notice in May 2020, however, would not apply in any event as the exemption notice only applied to the combination if the quad-axle group did not exceed 35 tonnes. The assessed mass of 36.8 tonnes was 184% of the mass requirement. Therefore, the State Class 1 Load Carrying Vehicle Mass Exemption Notice 2020 to ceased operation, and the regulation mass limit applied, equating to a severe breach.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$2,750
Costs
$100

Fines under s 96(1) 1 on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.

What the record would have shown

The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Qube Ports Pty Ltd Mass NSW Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Zezt Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Eifers Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-1acd33f97955, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.