Company AS 65931: fined $10,000, mass, 13 April 2026
Party
- Party
- Company AS 65931. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 65931
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Kurri Kurri Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 13 April 2026
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
A heavy vehicle owned by the defendant was intercepted by NHVR officers on 5 January 2026 for a compliance check at Twelve Mile Creek. The vehicle was loaded with machinery and was operating under the National Class 1 Load Carrying Vehicle Mass Exemption Notice 2025 (No.1). The NHVR officers weighed the vehicle and found the third axle group was over the allowable mass in the Notice. After the applicable mass adjustment and general mass limits were applied, the assessed mass on axle group 3 was 214% of the maximum permissible mass. The defendant’s lawyer appeared and entered a plea of guilty on behalf of the Company. The Company had been in operation since 2014 with no prior HVNL offences. The Company had 66 vehicles and machines registered in New South Wales. The wrong trailer had been used for the load and the driver had gone off the wrong weight chart. The Company accepted full responsibility and had now put scales on all trucks and had refined their CoR policy. The Court considered the maximum penalty and the matters listed in s 594 HVNL. In particular the Court noted the unfair commercial advantage for the Company using an incorrect trailer for the load and expressed a view that there was a need for denunciation of this conduct.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $10,000
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Prior history
The source states no prior history.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-1d4d1caea80c, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.