Individual · no NHVR reference: fined $6,000, fatigue, 7 August 2020
Party
- Party
- Individual · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Driver
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Wynnum Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Queensland
- Hearing date
- 7 August 2020
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b), s 702
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 5
Facts
The defendant did not hold any accreditation which meant that he could drive for 12 hours a day, and was required to have at least 7 continuous hours of rest. The driver falsified his work diary to attempt to cover the fact that he could not, even theoretically, travel from Brisbane to Wagga Wagga in one day, even though the Company expected him to do so. Penalty: Fine: $6,000 plus court costs; One fine for all offences
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $6,000
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 702 on the register: $4,800 to $14,000, median $9,000 across 4 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Supervisory order breach | QLD | Convicted, fined $60,000 | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Executive due diligence | QLD | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Executive due diligence | QLD | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-24dec8f9cfd6, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.