Individual AS 5395: convicted, fatigue, 1 March 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 5395. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 5395
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Tweed Heads Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 1 March 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 3
Facts
The accused was charged with one count of working more than standard hours (critical risk breach), and 2 counts of resting less than minimum hours (critical risk breach). In the 24-hour period between 11:00am on 8 September 2022 and 11:00am on 9 September 2022, the accused worked for 15 hours and 45 minutes. In the same 24-hour period, the accused rested for 5 continuous hours. In the 24-hour period from 9 September 2022 and 10 September 2022, the accused rested for 5 continuous hours. The accused had no prior heavy vehicle record. Plea of guilty was entered with explanation.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- Not stated
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order
Prior history
The source states no prior history.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $510,000 | 19 September 2025 | View the record of Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd, 19 September 2025 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-4a90bb528043, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.