Defendant AS 5383: fined $1,100, mass, 20 January 2023
Party
- Party
- Defendant AS 5383. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Role
- Operator
- Reference
- AS 5383
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 20 January 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(a)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
The accused was travelling from Austral, NSW to Goulburn, NSW. At the time of intercept, the accused had travelled approximately 135 kilometres or approximately 1 ½ hours. At the time of intercept, the accused had travelled approximately 82% of their journey. The vehicle's permitted mass on the second axle group was 9.00 tonnes. The vehicle's mass was weighed at 12.06 tonnes. Taking into account the applicable mass adjustment, the vehicle's alleged mass was 11.66 tonnes, an excess mass of 129%. The vehicle was loaded with scaffolding material. When asked roadside by the Safety Compliance Officer whether or not they weighed the vehicle before commencing his journey, the accused said no. First offence under the HVNL.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $1,100
Fines under s 96(1)(a) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 6 months
Prior history
The source states no prior history.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Mass | VIC | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Brother Nature Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Brother Nature Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-4c14e30977a1, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.