Defendant AS 4796: supervisory intervention order, fatigue, 25 November 2022
Party
- Party
- Defendant AS 4796. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 4796
The proceeding
- Decision
- Supervisory intervention order
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 25 November 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 2
Facts
The accused was charged with 1 count of working more than standard hours (critical risk breach) and 1 count of resting less than minimum hours (critical risk breach). In the 24-hour period between 13:30 on 13 June 2022 and 13:30 on 14 June 2022, the accused recorded that they worked a total of 19 hours and 15 minutes, and rested for a continuous period of 2 hours and 45 minutes. The accused had no prior heavy vehicle record. A plea of guilty was entered with explanation. It was their first trip. The accused was told, incorrectly, that they could drive a prime mover without a trailer and not have to have the 7 hours rest. The accused had not driven a heavy vehicle since the offence. They asked the prosecution if there was some training that they could undertake. The prosecutor applied for a Supervisory Intervention Order (SIO). The defendant was found guilty with no conviction recorded, and placed under a Conditional Release Order (CRO) for 9 months. SIO made requiring training and purchase and use of an Electronic Work Diary (EWD).
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- Not stated
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order
Prior history
The source states no prior history.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $510,000 | 19 September 2025 | View the record of Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd, 19 September 2025 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-4ca8880f8c91, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.