Individual · no NHVR reference: fined $14,000, fatigue, 7 August 2020
Party
- Party
- Individual · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Driver
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Wynnum Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Queensland
- Hearing date
- 7 August 2020
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 254(1)(a), s 254(1)(b), s 702
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 10
Facts
In November 2018 the defendant was employed to drive a B-double from Brisbane to Wagga Wagga to collect canola oil and return to the Port of Brisbane with the consignment. The defendant held Basic Fatigue Management accreditation and was authorised to drive for 14 hours a day, yet still had to have 7 continuous hours of rest. The driver falsified his work diary (s702(1)) to attempt to cover the fact that he was completing up to 20 hours of work in a single 24-hour period. In one instance he had as little as 1 ¾ hours of continuous rest. The company the driver was employed by was also successfully prosecuted under the HVNL Primary Duty legislation. Penalty: Fine: $14,000 plus court costs; One fine for all offences
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $14,000
Fines under s 254(1)(a) on the register: $1,500 to $45,000, median $6,000 across 17 matters. Fines under s 254(1)(b) on the register: $1,500 to $45,000, median $6,000 across 17 matters. Fines under s 702 on the register: $4,800 to $14,000, median $9,000 across 4 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Supervisory order breach | QLD | Convicted, fined $60,000 | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Executive due diligence | QLD | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Executive due diligence | QLD | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-5bddb8ac51d1, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.