Company AS 61917: fined $26,000, mass, 30 July 2025
Party
- Party
- Company AS 61917. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 61917
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Tweed Heads Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 30 July 2025
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
A vehicle registered to the defendant was intercepted on 3 May 2025 at Chinderah. The vehicle’s gross mass limit under the relevant exemption notice was 60t. The vehicle’s gross mass was assessed at 61.7t. Because the relevant exemption notice was breached, the gross mass limit reverted to the statutory limit of 43t. The vehicle was therefore overloaded by 18.7t (143% overload). Upon inspection of the dump truck loaded on the vehicle, it was found to have around 2 cubic metres of sand in the back of its tray. The vehicle was also found to be over mass on two of its axle groups (which were not charged).
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $26,000
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Educational point
Provide relevant staff with the means to weigh or verify the weight of loads on heavy vehicles (e.g. on-board scales or portable scales).
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-64a9a12f9b5f, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.