← The register · Mass

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 7863: convicted, mass, 12 October 2023

Party

Party
Individual AS 7863. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 7863

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Wollongong Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
12 October 2023
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 96(1)(b), s 102(1)(b)(iii)
Offence
Mass
Charges
2

Facts

A heavy vehicle was intercepted by Authorised Officers for a compliance check. Upon inspection, Authorised Officers detected two offences, an over width and over mass. The prescribed width limit to the heavy vehicle was 2.5-meters, and the assessed width of the heavy vehicle was 2.625 meters. The offence constituted a severe risk breach. The prescribed mass limit over the first axle group applicable to the vehicle was 6 tonnes, and the assessed axle mass was 7.40 tonnes. This amounted to 118% of the maximum mass permitted which constituted a substantial risk breach.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
Not stated

Fines under s 96(1)(b) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters. Fines under s 102(1)(b)(iii) on the register: $500 to $70,000, median $6,300 across 40 matters.

Orders

What the record would have shown

The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Qube Ports Pty Ltd Mass NSW Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Zezt Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Eifers Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-7638a0e17d54, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.