Individual AS 7034: convicted, fatigue, 5 May 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 7034. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 7034
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 5 May 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
Facts
A heavy vehicle was intercepted on Hume Highway at Marulan by NHVR Authorised Officers and inspected the driver’s National Driver Work Diary. The authorised officers identified two breaches within a 24-hour period. The driver had driven for a total of 19.5 hours and had only rested for 1.5 hours. The driver was aware they were allowed to drive up to 12 hours in any 24-hour period. When asked, when they should start counting a work period, they stated at the end of a major rest break.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- Not stated
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $510,000 | 19 September 2025 | View the record of Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd, 19 September 2025 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Some fields are blank because the source does not state them or they could not be matched to its text. Nothing on this page is estimated.
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-90ebb62be7d1, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.