Individual AS 5525: convicted, fatigue, 10 February 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 5525. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 5525
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 10 February 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 5
Facts
One count of a solo driver resting less than the standard minimum time โ critical risk. The accused had driven a 7-day period (168-hour period) between 16 September 2022 at 8:45pm, and 23 September 2022 at 8:45pm. The accused did not have a 24-hour rest as required. Their longest rest in this period of time was 16 hours. The accused entered a plea of guilty and wrote a letter of apology to the court. The letter stated they were sorry and made a mistake. The Accused also consented to the Supervisory Intervention Order (SIO). The prosecutor submitted that the accused was a systematic offender and sought the imposition of an SIO. The accused had five similar offences in the past 8 years, mostly relating to fatigue and Work Diary offences.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- Not stated
Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 9 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $510,000 | 19 September 2025 | View the record of Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd, 19 September 2025 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-92833997c521, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.