Company AS 17398: fined $8,000, mass, 27 March 2024
Party
- Party
- Company AS 17398. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 17398
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Gosford Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 27 March 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
On 17 July 2023, Authorised Officers of the NHVR detected a heavy vehicle travelling Northbound on the M1 Pacific Motorway, Mt White NSW and an inspection was conducted on the vehicle. The vehicle was carrying a load of building materials and supplies on a journey from Unanderra NSW to Glendale NSW at a GVM of 25.1 tonnes. As a result of the inspection, the 1st axle group was found to weigh at 7.86 tonnes after the adjusted measurement. The permissible weight for the 1st axle group is 6.5 tonnes. The weight exceeded by 1.36 tonnes or 120.9%. Defence sought a no conviction order after providing subjective material of an apology letter and honest mistake. Prosecutor opposed no conviction due to previous conviction history for same offence and the company is still reoffending. Prosecution submitted public safety risks of vehicle braking distance diminished due to heavy axle and also wear and tear of road infrastructure when overloaded.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $8,000
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Prior history
The source states a prior history.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-95803e7db07e, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.