Individual · no NHVR reference: fined $3,000, mass, 13 May 2019
Party
- Party
- Individual · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Executive officer
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Southport Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Queensland
- Hearing date
- 13 May 2019
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1), s 183, (Pre 01, s 10, 2018 offences)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
The steer axle of a heavy vehicle was loaded at 120% of the applicable mass limit and the drive axle was loaded at 118% of the limit. The director of the company was not aware of the mass limits that applied to the vehicle. The loading machinery used by the company had no weighing equipment attached. There was no formal training or induction process for new drivers. The company was charged and convicted under (repealed) extended liability provisions. Penalty: Fine: $3,000 global penalty, plus court costs
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $3,000
Fines under s 96(1) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters. Fines under s 183 on the register: $3,000 to $10,000, median $6,500 across 2 matters. Fines under s 10 on the register: $3,000 to $21,600, median $12,300 across 2 matters.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-95d4de8094ae, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.