Company AS 63638: fined $7,500, mass, 3 February 2026
Party
- Party
- Company AS 63638. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 63638
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Devonport Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Tasmania
- Hearing date
- 3 February 2026
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
The company pleaded guilty to permitting a vehicle to drive while breaching load requirements. The offence was categorised as a severe breach. As a result of the excess load, hundreds of carrots spilt onto the road. This offence created a traffic incident and a risk to the public, particularly when local members of the community ran to collect the carrots which spilt onto the road. NHVR Safety and Compliance Officers were required to manage the incident to ensure the safety of the public. The Magistrate was aware of the incident as they lived in the local area, and made comments about the impact of the event on local traffic.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $7,500
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Educational point
Operators of heavy vehicles carrying loads, including corporates, must ensure the loads are properly secured.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-9653df7004a9, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.