Company · no NHVR reference: fined $10,000, mass, 20 July 2020
Party
- Party
- Company · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Downing Centre Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 20 July 2020
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
The defendant was charged with a Severe category over mass offence. The vehicle was overloaded by 25% on the tri-axle and the defendant had two prior convictions for similar matter in 2018 and 2019. It was noted that while the maximum penalty had the defendant been an individual was $14,000.00 as it was a Corporation, the Court was entitled to impose a max fine of around $70,000.00, pursuant to s596 of the HVNL.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $10,000
Fines under s 96 on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Prior history
The source states a prior history.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-997d922b51cd, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.