Defendant AS 5180: fined $1,500, mass, 21 November 2022
Party
- Party
- Defendant AS 5180. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Role
- Operator
- Reference
- AS 5180
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Katoomba Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 21 November 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
A heavy vehicle was intercepted on Great Western Highway at Mount Boyce in NSW by NHVR Authorised Officers. The vehicle was loaded with two large pieces of machinery. The driver asserted they were travelling under the Multi-State Class 1 Load carrying Vehicle Mass Exemption Notice 2020 (No.1) whereby they could have carried 6.50 tonnes on the steer axle, 18.50 tonnes on the drive axle and 35.00 tonnes on the quad axle. However, as the vehicle was carrying two machines on the trailer, the vehicle was not eligible to run under the exemption and the general mass limits were applied. The court found that it was satisfied of the test set out in s600 of the HVNL and made a Supervisory Intervention Order for 6 months.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $1,500
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Mass | VIC | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Brother Nature Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Brother Nature Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-9e5617159c02, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.