Individual AS 7333: fined $45,000, fatigue, 23 February 2024
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 7333. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 7333
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 23 February 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 584, s 568(3)(a), s 568(3)(b), s 570(3), s 297(2), s 332, s 514(3), s 529, s 570, Road Rule 300 (NSW)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 16
Facts
The defendant was convicted by the court on 16 charges contrary to the HVNL. The charges were a number of obstructing an authorised officer, failure to provide a licence or work diary, failure to comply with direction to not move a vehicle, failure to comply with the requirement to provide journey information, failure to record information in a work diary.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $45,000
Fines under s 584 on the register: $1,600 to $45,000, median $3,035 across 4 matters. Fines under s 568(3)(a) on the register: $5,000 to $45,000, median $45,000 across 3 matters. Fines under s 568(3)(b) on the register: $5,000 to $45,000, median $45,000 across 3 matters. Fines under s 570(3) on the register: $2,500 to $45,000, median $11,000 across 20 matters. Fines under s 297(2) on the register: $3,500 to $45,000, median $9,865 across 4 matters. Fines under s 332 on the register: $12,730 to $45,000, median $28,865 across 2 matters. Fines under s 529 on the register: $5,000 to $45,000, median $17,000 across 4 matters. Fines under s 570 on the register: $2,500 to $45,000, median $11,000 across 20 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
| Crawfords Freightlines Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $90,000 | 27 August 2021 | View the record of Crawfords Freightlines Pty Ltd, 27 August 2021 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-afba00f16622, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.