← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 7501: fined $22,300, fatigue, 29 November 2023

Party

Party
Individual AS 7501. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 7501

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Tenterfield Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
29 November 2023
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 250(1)(a), s 325(1), s 296(1)
Offence
Fatigue
Charges
2

Facts

The defendant was charged with one count of a solo driver working more than the standard maximum time (critical risk). The defendant had two previous heavy vehicle offences - driving an unregistered heavy vehicle and following too closely in a heavy vehicle.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$22,300

Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters. Fines under s 296(1) on the register: $3,500 to $22,300, median $8,865 across 4 matters.

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $38,000 11 November 2024 View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024
Profect Construction Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $45,000 4 November 2025 View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-ba0e25d99719, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.