← The register · Mass

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Company AS 24379: fined $5,000, mass, 3 April 2024

Party

Party
Company AS 24379. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Company
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 24379

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Gosford Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
3 April 2024
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 96(1)(c)
Offence
Mass

Facts

On 9 January 2024, Authorised Officers of the NHVR observed a heavy vehicle travelling on Pacific Highway at Mount White. The Authorised Officers intercepted the vehicle, spoke to the driver, and inspected the vehicle, its components, and its load. The accused permitted a person, to drive the vehicle from Penrith NSW to Mount White NSW The vehicle's permitted axle group mass was 16.5 tonnes. The vehicle's axle group mass was weighed at 21.8 tonnes. Taking into account the applicable mass adjustment, the vehicle's alleged axle mass was 21.3 tonnes, an excess mass of 4.8 tonnes, or an overload of 129%. The contravention of the vehicle's permitted mass resulted in a severe risk breach.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$5,000

Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.

What the record would have shown

The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Qube Ports Pty Ltd Mass NSW Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Zezt Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Eifers Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-bf0d4696c687, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.