Company AS 61175: fined $10,000, mass, 11 August 2025
Party
- Party
- Company AS 61175. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 61175
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Sydney Downing Centre Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 11 August 2025
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
On 23 April 2025, authorised officers of the NHVR observed a heavy vehicle, travelling Northbound on Cumberland Highway, Smithfield, NSW. The heavy vehicle was then intercepted and inspected at Wetherill Park, NSW. The heavy vehicle's 1st axle group was weighed at 8.8 tonnes. Taking into the applicable mass adjustment, the vehicle’s assessed mass was 8.5 tonnes on the 1st axle group, an excess mass of 2 tonnes, or an overload on 130.7%. The contravention constituted a severe risk breach. At the time of the intercept, authorised officers spoke to the driver of the vehicle, who stated that they had been provided no training on loading or mass limits. No other reasonable excuse was provided. The Court stated that the objective seriousness of the offence was at the high end and highlighted that the company had a history and indicated a discount for an early guilty plea; however, it indicated the need for specific deterrence in this case.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $10,000
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-c185b7e389dd, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.