Company AS 62323: fined $15,000, mass, 18 September 2025
Party
- Party
- Company AS 62323. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 62323
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Parkes Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 18 September 2025
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
- Incident
- Property damage
Facts
The accused, without reasonable excuse, permitted another to drive a heavy vehicle on a road and failed to ensure that the heavy vehicle and load complied with the prescribed mass requirements. The accused was the registered operator of the vehicle. On 23 June 2025 the accused permitted the driver to drive a Kenworth prime mover and low loader combination towing a low loader. The prescribed axle mass limit applicable to the third axle group was 20 tonnes. The assessed mass of the third axle group was 39.80 tonnes or 199 percent of the maximum mass permitted. The offence constituted a severe risk breach. The following points were submitted: The vehicle had already travelled a lengthy distance. Sentencing principles under 3A Crimes Sentencing Procedure Act and s 594 of the HVNL. The prosecutor submitted that all 594 factors were engaged. The accused has been operating in the industry since 1985 and knew the load was never capable of being lawfully carried. There was a foreseeable risk of catastrophic harm and infrastructure damage. The defendant has a significant Victorian history.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $15,000
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-c6a04587c96e, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.