← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedSupervisory intervention order

Individual AS 4819: supervisory intervention order, fatigue, 9 December 2022

Party

Party
Individual AS 4819. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 4819

The proceeding

Decision
Supervisory intervention order
Court
Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
9 December 2022
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
Offence
Fatigue
Charges
2

Facts

The accused was charged with 1 count of working more than standard hours (critical risk breach) and 1 count of resting less than the minimal standard hours (critical risk breach). In the 24-hour period between 10:30 am on 7 July 2022 and 10:30 am on 8 July 2022, the accused recorded that they worked a total of 14 hours in the 24-hour period and rested for 4 hours and 45 minutes in the 24-hours period. The accused had no prior heavy vehicle record. A plea of guilty was entered with explanation. The accused explained they had misunderstood the work diary requirements. Defendant found guilty with no conviction recorded. Supervisory Intervention Order (SIO) made requiring training and purchase and use of an Electronic Work Diary.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
Not stated

Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.

Orders

Prior history

The source states no prior history.

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Profect Construction Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $45,000 4 November 2025 View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025
Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $510,000 19 September 2025 View the record of Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd, 19 September 2025
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-ce84d45c63fb, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.