← The register · Mass

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Company · no NHVR reference: fined $10,000, mass, 13 December 2018

Party

Party
Company · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Company
Role
Role not stated

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Toowoomba Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
Queensland
Hearing date
13 December 2018
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 96(1), s 183
Offence
Mass

Facts

On 1 October 2018, a heavy vehicle combination transporting a scraper was the subject of a permit however the mass limit of the permit was breached and the vehicle was assessed at general mass limits. The mass on the quad axle group (dual tyres) of the trailer was 205% of the maximum mass limit (a severe risk breach). The mass on the tandem axle group of the trailer (dual tyres) was 114% of the maximum permitted mass (a substantial risk breach). Penalty: Fine: $10,000 global penalty, plus court costs

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$10,000

Fines under s 96(1) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters. Fines under s 183 on the register: $3,000 to $10,000, median $6,500 across 2 matters.

What the record would have shown

The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Qube Ports Pty Ltd Mass NSW Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Zezt Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Eifers Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-cf0ef4413656, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.