← The register · Mass

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Company AS 60117: fined $18,000, mass, 6 August 2025

Party

Party
Company AS 60117. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Company
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 60117

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Sydney Downing Centre Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
6 August 2025
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 96(1)(c)
Offence
Mass

Facts

The company's first offence occurred 12 months ago, with a heavy vehicle being 123% overloaded on a 30km trip. The current offence, the heavy vehicle was 172% overloaded for a 1,500km trip. Specific deterrence was required for this company. The Court considered the consequences outlined in s.594 of the HVNL for a severe offence. Defence conceded appreciable risk of harm to public safety, with no evidence before the Court of financial gain, unlikely to re-offend, good prospects of rehabilitation, is remorseful, acknowledged deficiency and taken steps to rectify, and the driver complied with directions and provided assistance at intercept. The Court accepts that specific deterrence is necessary, due to prior similar offending in 2023, where the defendant was convicted and fined $10,000 for a similar mass offence. General deterrence is also necessary.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$18,000

Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.

Prior history

The source states no prior history.

What the record would have shown

The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Qube Ports Pty Ltd Mass NSW Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Zezt Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Eifers Pty Ltd Mass Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-d726e07b5937, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.