Individual AS 5871: convicted, fatigue, 28 April 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 5871. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 5871
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Liverpool Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 28 April 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 3
Facts
A heavy vehicle was detected travelling between Safe-T-Cam sites in less than the allowable travel time. A Notice to Produce was sent to the registered operator of the heavy vehicle requesting Work Diary records for the relevant period. The accused was nominated as the driver by the registered operator and all relevant Work Diary records were provided. A check on the accused’s Work Diary revealed that the accused was working under standard driving hours. Upon inspection of the accused’s Work Diary, entries of three critical breach fatigue offences were detected.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- Not stated
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $510,000 | 19 September 2025 | View the record of Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd, 19 September 2025 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-d7545f625dcd, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.