Company AS 61674: fined $15,000, mass, 25 August 2025
Party
- Party
- Company AS 61674. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 61674
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Parramatta Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 25 August 2025
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
At about 8.31am on 20 May 2025, Authorised Officers of the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator observed a heavy vehicle ("the vehicle") travelling Northbound on Ferrers Rd, Eastern Creek, New South Wales. The vehicle was carrying a general load. The vehicle was being driven by a casual driver of the Accused company. The registered operator of the vehicle is the Accused and the vehicle has a GVM of 24 tonnes. The Regulator intercepted the vehicle, spoke to the driver, and inspected the vehicle, its components, and its load. Upon inspection, the following offence was identified. Failure to comply with mass requirements. The Accused was on a journey from Edensor Park, New South Wales, to Arndell Park, New South Wales. The vehicle's permitted mass on the first axle group was 6.50 tonnes. The vehicle's first axle group was weighed at 9.30 tonnes. Taking into account the applicable mass adjustment, the vehicle's assessed mass was 9 tonnes on the first axle group, an excess mass of 2.5 tonnes, or an overload of 138.4%. The contravention of the vehicle's permitted mass resulted in a severe risk breach. The matter was before the Parramatta Local Court on the 28 August 2025. The company was represented by a solicitor. Defence tendered company financial records. Issue of distribution load. Company experiencing financial difficulty.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $15,000
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-de855593492f, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.