Individual · no NHVR reference: fined $10,000, mass, 23 April 2021
Party
- Party
- Individual · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Driver
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Broadmeadows Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Victoria
- Hearing date
- 23 April 2021
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1), s 102(1)(b)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
A driver was intercepted driving a heavy vehicle, being a Freightliner tow truck coupled to a refrigerated trailer. It was revealed that the vehicle had breached its mass and dimension requirements. The vehicle was loaded at 124% of the applicable mass limit of the tandem drive. The vehicles allowed length was 26m as the Defendant had a permit, however due to breaching the permit the length reverted to the statutory limit of 19m. The length of the vehicle was 29.06m, an excess length of 10.06m. The Defendant had prior driving matters, however had no priors for Heavy Vehicle National Law matters.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $10,000
Fines under s 96(1) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters. Fines under s 102(1)(b) on the register: $500 to $70,000, median $6,300 across 40 matters.
Prior history
The source states no prior history.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Individual · name withheld | Mass | VIC | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-e0e698b73800, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.