Company AS 61156: fined $12,500, mass, 29 July 2025
Party
- Party
- Company AS 61156. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 61156
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Fairfield Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 29 July 2025
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
- Charges
- 1
Facts
On 17 April 2025, Authorised Officers of the Regulator observed a heavy vehicle travelling on Victoria Street, Wetherill, NSW. The Authorised Officers intercepted the vehicle, spoke to the driver, and inspected the vehicle, its components, and its load. Section 96 of the Heavy Vehicle National Law (HVNL) requires a person who permits another to drive a heavy vehicle on a road, to ensure the vehicle, its components and load, comply with the mass requirements applying to the vehicle. The mass requirements are prescribed by Part 2 of the Heavy Vehicle (Mass, Dimension and Loading) National Regulation. The Accused (a registered operator) permitted an employee to drive the vehicle from Wetherill to Lidcombe. The vehicle's permitted gross mass was 6.2 tonnes. The vehicle's gross mass was weighed at 8.45 tonnes. Taking into account the applicable mass adjustment, the vehicle's alleged gross mass was 8.20 tonnes, an excess mass of 2 tonnes, or an overload of 132%.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $12,500
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-e20ffb3c3a72, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.