Defendant AS 4510: fined $2,500, mass, 25 August 2022
Party
- Party
- Defendant AS 4510. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 4510
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Lithgow Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 25 August 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
- Charges
- 1
Facts
The defendant was charged with 1 count of permitting a heavy vehicle to be driven while over mass – severe risk breach – the seventh offence of this nature in 2 years. The heavy vehicle was intercepted on 27 May 2022 by TfNSW On Road Officers. It was weighed and was found to be over mass. The second axle weighed 19.9 tonnes with the allowable mass limit being 16.5. This was a SEVERE risk breach and was 120.6% of the permissible weight for the heavy vehicle. The heavy vehicle was loaded with blocks of sandstone and was travelling from Mount Druitt to Hartley NSW through the Blue Mountains.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $2,500
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Orders
- Commercial benefits penalty order
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-e316e03527f0, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.