Company AS 13692: fined $4,000, mass, 30 April 2024
Party
- Party
- Company AS 13692. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 13692
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Fairfield Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 30 April 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
- Charges
- 1
Facts
The defendant company was charged with permitting a driver to drive an over mass vehicle on a road. The heavy vehicle was intercepted on 20 September 2023 by NHVR Safety and Compliance Officers at Smithfield, New South Wales. The heavy vehicle’s mass was measured. The prescribed mass limit of the heavy vehicle’s tri-axle group was 20.0 tonnes. The assessed mass of the tri-axle group was 24.95 tonnes, an excess mass of 4.95 tonnes. This is 124.75% of the prescribed mass limit. The driver stated that there were weight scales in the heavy vehicle driven but it was not accurate. The driver stated that the company had not provided training about mass and was not aware of separate axle weights. The defendant company had a relevant court prior in 2021 and 2016.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $4,000
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 6 months
Educational point
Identify the mass requirements that apply to each heavy vehicle and communicate this to relevant staff, including loaders and drivers. Provide relevant staff the means to weigh or verify the weight of loads on heavy vehicles (e.g. on-board scales or portable scales that are accurate). Ensure that all relevant staff are trained in mass requirements.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Ferrycarrig Construction Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Zezt Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Zezt Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Eifers Pty Ltd | Mass | Not stated | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Eifers Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-f55201ac7ccc, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.