← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 8216: fined $8,000, fatigue, 13 October 2023

Party

Party
Individual AS 8216. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 8216

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Gundagai Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
13 October 2023
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 325(1), s 293(1)
Offence
Fatigue
Charges
3

Facts

The defendant was intercepted by Authorised Officers and a routine inspection commenced. Upon inspection, Authorised Officers asked for the defendant’s Work Diary which the defendant did not possess; however, supplementary Work Diary sheets were provided. Authorised Officers inspected the supplementary Work Diary sheets which were deemed false and misleading entries as Safe-T-Camera entries detected the heavy vehicle at different locations.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$8,000

Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters. Fines under s 293(1) on the register: $3,070 to $8,000, median $5,535 across 2 matters.

Orders

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025
Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $38,000 11 November 2024 View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-0800cbc1c81e, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.