NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted
Individual AS 9618: fined $7,000, fatigue, 29 November 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 9618. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 9618
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Gosford Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 29 November 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 254(1)(b)
- Offence
- Fatigue
Facts
The accused was the driver of a heavy vehicle with a gross vehicle mass (GVM) exceeding 12 tonnes, constituting a fatigue regulated heavy vehicle. In the 24-hour period, the prescribed Basic Fatigue Management (BFM) minimum continuous rest time was 7 hours. The longest period of continuous rest achieved by the accused was 3 hours and 30 minutes.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $7,000
Fines under s 254(1)(b) on the register: $1,500 to $45,000, median $6,000 across 17 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 6 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-0d568be599fb, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.