Individual AS 9957: fined $12,000, fatigue, 13 May 2024
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 9957. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 9957
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Ringwood Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Victoria
- Hearing date
- 13 May 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(b), s 250(1)(a), s 325(1)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 20
Facts
The defendant was intercepted by NHVR authorised officers on two occasions. The officers detected a total of twenty seven separate offences in respect to the defendant’s National Driver Work Diary. 9 offences pursuant to section 250(1) of the HVNL – failure to comply with maximum work limits. There were 3 critical risk breaches, 2 severe risk breaches and 4 minor risk breaches detected. 18 offences pursuant to section 325(1) HVNL – for false or misleading entry in a work record. The defendant’s Work Diary was compared to various camera sightings. In the majority of the false entry charges, the defendant stated that they were resting however there were camera sightings confirming that the vehicle was moving. The magistrate accepted the defendant’s early guilty plea and imposed a Supervisory Intervention Order (SIO). The defendant has no relevant prior history.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $12,000
Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
Prior history
The source states no prior history.
Educational point
Consider implementing an EWD. Ensure you have read and understood the instructions in the front of the National Driver Work Diary. Ensure you are familiar with time counting requirements under the HVNL, in line with instructional videos contained on the NHVR website.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-0e1e297095cc, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.