← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 8591: fined $650, fatigue, 28 February 2024

Party

Party
Individual AS 8591. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 8591

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Tweed Heads Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
28 February 2024
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 250(1)(a)
Offence
Fatigue
Charges
2

Facts

The defendant was charged with “solo driver work more than standard maximum time critical risk”. On 27 April 2023 the defendant was intercepted by NHVR Safety Compliance Officers at Chinderah. An inspection of the defendant’s work diary found that between 10:15pm on 24 April 2023 and 10:15pm on 25 April 2023 the defendant had worked for 14 hours and 30 minutes. The maximum work time in any 24 hour period is 12 hours. The defendant had two prior work diary offences.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$650

Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.

Orders

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025
Qube Ports Pty Ltd Mass NSW Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-10a706205411, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.