← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 14617: fined $800, fatigue, 8 May 2024

Party

Party
Individual AS 14617. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 14617

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Tweed Heads Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
8 May 2024
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 250(1)(a), s 250(1)(b)
Offence
Fatigue
Charges
2

Facts

The driver of the heavy vehicle was found to have in a 24-hour period worked more than the prescribed standard maximum work time. In the same 24-hour period the driver was also found to have rested less than minimum required time under standard hour requirements. The offence constituted a critical risk breach.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$800

Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under s 250(1)(b) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.

Orders

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024
Qube Ports Pty Ltd Mass NSW Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-12a84625babe, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.