Individual AS 19579: fined $5,000, dimension, 8 April 2024
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 19579. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 19579
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Parramatta Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 8 April 2024
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 102(1)(b)(iii)
- Offence
- Dimension
- Incident
- Property damage
Facts
At about 11:48am on Monday, 27 November 2023, an NHVR Safety and Compliance Officer (SCO) stopped a heavy vehicle for a compliance check because they observed the left rear door of the body was open swinging towards the nature strip and gutter, and struck the mirror of a parked articulated combination. The accused drove a rigid truck loaded with 2 x pallets of general freight. The SCO measured it and found the width was 3.65 metres due to its open left rear door. It was more than the prescribed limit of 2.50 metres. It is more than 2.50 metres plus 80 mm (2.58 metres) (severe risk breach).
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $5,000
Fines under s 102(1)(b)(iii) on the register: $500 to $70,000, median $6,300 across 40 matters.
Educational point
Ensure that there are policies and procedures for drivers to ensure that the vehicle is checked and locked before every journey.
As reported by NHVR.
What the record would have shown
The load's height, width and length measured against the vehicle's limits and any permit, recorded at dispatch. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-17c1ee2aa987, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.