← The register · Executive due diligence
Individual AS 3295: fined $8,000, executive due diligence, 4 May 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 3295. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 3295
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Launceston Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Tasmania
- Hearing date
- 4 May 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 26(g), s 26(d)
- Offence
- Executive due diligence
- Incident
- Fatality
Facts
The offender failed to take reasonably practicable steps as a scheduler in the Chain of Responsibility (CoR). The offender also failed to take reasonably practicable steps, as an executive of a company of which they were the sole director, to exercise due diligence to ensure the company complied with its safety duty. The lack of proactive management by the offender of their transport activities, as mandated by the Heavy Vehicle National Law (HVNL), resulted in a culture of continued and systemic breaches of the Regulations and was in breach of the safety duties imposed by the HVNL. This failure exposed two classes of individuals, namely the employed drivers of the company, and the public, to a risk of death or serious injury.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $8,000
Fines under s 26(g) on the register: $2,000 to $80,000, median $16,500 across 6 matters. Fines under s 26(d) on the register: $2,000 to $80,000, median $16,500 across 6 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
Board and executive minutes showing the transport risks were reported, questioned and resourced, each with a date. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Berry Raymond Campbell | Executive due diligence | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Berry Raymond Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Individual · name withheld | Executive due diligence | QLD | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Individual · name withheld | Executive due diligence | QLD | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Individual, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-1c6eabe8f95d, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.