Individual · no NHVR reference: fined $2,000, fatigue, 1 September 2022
Party
- Party
- Individual · no NHVR reference. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Penrith Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 1 September 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 254(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 1
Facts
The defendant was charged with a critical risk breach of working more than the allowed hours under BFM accreditation. The defendant pleaded guilty to this charge in Penrith Local Court on 1 September 2022. This was the third offence of the same kind for the defendant. The NHVR applied to the Court for a Supervisory Intervention Order on this basis. The defendant was represented by a barrister who confirmed that the Supervisory Intervention Order was consented to but asked the Court to take it into consideration as a reason for not proceeding to a conviction. The presiding Magistrate noted the defendant’s history and noted that the offending was not “trivial” and commented on the risk that a fatigued driver had on themselves, other road users, and the community.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $2,000
Fines under s 254(1)(a) on the register: $1,500 to $45,000, median $6,000 across 17 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 12 months
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-1da48c01be94, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.