← The register · False or misleading records
Individual AS 5098: fined $2,000, false or misleading records, 8 December 2022
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 5098. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 5098
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Parkes Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 8 December 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 325(1)
- Offence
- False or misleading records
- Charges
- 1
Facts
The accused was charged with 1 count of make false or misleading entry in work record. The accused was working during a period he recorded in his work diary as rest. The STC in Albury detected the heavy vehicle at the time the accused recorded as rest. The defendant was legally represented and entered a plea of guilty. The legal representative made submissions to the effect that it was a genuine mistake, the defendant had done training since and was working closely with their employer to rectify their mistakes. The legal representative made submissions that if a Supervisory Intervention Order (SIO) was to be imposed requiring the defendant to purchase an Electronic Work Diary (EWD), that their employer would cease their employment. As such, the Regulator did not oppose the SIO being amended to remove the SIOs requirement for an EWD and instead just require the defendant's written work diary pages. His Honour convicted the defendant, ordered a $2,000 fine and imposed the SIO. His Honour made comments regarding the employer’s attitude toward an EWD and expressed his displeasure, and that there was a need for the company to progress with the times and make changes to an EWD.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $2,000
Fines under s 325(1) on the register: $300 to $45,000, median $6,275 across 44 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order, 6 months
What the record would have shown
Work diaries and transport records reconciled against independent data (fuel, tolls, telematics), with each discrepancy followed up. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-221e13fcbadd, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.