Defendant AS 4623: fined $700, fatigue, 11 August 2022
Party
- Party
- Defendant AS 4623. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 4623
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Penrith Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 11 August 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250(1)(a)
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 1
Facts
The defendant was charged with 1 count of working more than the standard hours – CRITICAL risk breach – fourth offence in the last 6 years. On 6 April 2022, a heavy vehicle prime mover failed to enter the weighbridge as directed. A Notice to Produce was sent to the registered operator of the vehicle to ascertain the personal details of the driver and obtain work diary records. On 30 May 2022, the registered operator responded to the Notice to Produce. An examination of the work diary records indicated that the driver worked 14.5 hours work in a 24 hour period, which is 2.5 hours more than the maximum standard hours. This is considered a critical breach in accordance to schedule 1 of the Heavy Vehicle (Fatigue Management) National Regulation (NSW) 2013.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $700
Fines under s 250(1)(a) on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters.
Orders
- Supervisory intervention order
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-226a9e67afcc, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.