← The register · Fatigue

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 8488: fined $2,000, fatigue, 15 June 2023

Party

Party
Individual AS 8488. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 8488

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Albury District Court (District or County)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
15 June 2023
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 254(1)(b)
Offence
Fatigue
Charges
2

Facts

New South Wales Police stopped the accused at Albury for a heavy vehicle compliance check. Two fatigue offences were detected. The first charge was for resting less than the required time in a 24-hour period. The second charge was for operating under the basic fatigue management hours and continuous stationary rest. Under the Fatigue Regulation, having had less than five-and-a-half hours continuous rest constitutes a critical fatigue risk and carries a maximum penalty of $17,740.

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
$2,000

Fines under s 254(1)(b) on the register: $1,500 to $45,000, median $6,000 across 17 matters.

Orders

What the record would have shown

Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd Fatigue VIC Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd Fatigue Not stated Prohibition notice; prohibition order Date not stated View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025
Karl O’Sullivan Other NSW Convicted, fined $7,500 1 May 2024 View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024
Qube Ports Pty Ltd Mass NSW Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-44c8686cee25, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.