← The register · Load restraint

NHVR court outcome, unnamedConvicted

Individual AS 5510: convicted, load restraint, 28 March 2023

Party

Party
Individual AS 5510. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
Type
Individual
Role
Role not stated
Reference
AS 5510

The proceeding

Decision
Convicted
Court
Wagga Wagga Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
Jurisdiction
New South Wales
Hearing date
28 March 2023
Law
Heavy Vehicle National Law
Provisions
s 111(1)(c), s 102(1)(b)
Offence
Load restraint
Incident
Property damage

Facts

A heavy vehicle carrying 3 caravans was intercepted by NHVR authorised officers. The authorised officers observed the vehicle travelling very slowly. Earlier in the journey the vehicle braked suddenly and the restraints on the rear caravan on the rear trailer failed, resulting in all webbing straps, except one, becoming loose. This caused the caravan to roll back and forward. The restraints on the front caravan of the rear trailer also failed. The contravention of the loading requirement resulted in a severe risk breach as there was an appreciable risk to public safety and an appreciable risk of damage to road infrastructure. The vehicle's permitted length was 26 metres. The vehicle's length was 26.65, an excess length of 0.65 meters. The contravention of the vehicle's permitted length resulted in a severe risk breach. Penalty: Fine: C1 - $1,500; C2 - $1,500; C3 - $1,500

As reported by NHVR.

Penalty

Fine
Not stated

Fines under s 111(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $13,000, median $5,000 across 7 matters. Fines under s 102(1)(b) on the register: $500 to $70,000, median $6,300 across 40 matters.

Orders

What the record would have shown

The restraint method for the load as carried, checked against the Load Restraint Guide before departure, signed and dated. How the record works →

Comparable actions

DefendantOffenceJurisdictionDecisionDateRecord
J.J. Richards & Sons Pty Ltd Load restraint Not stated Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking Date not stated View the record of J.J. Richards & Sons Pty Ltd, Date not stated
Profect Construction Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $45,000 4 November 2025 View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025
Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $510,000 19 September 2025 View the record of Kellogg (Aust) Pty Ltd, 19 September 2025
Georgia Campbell Other NSW Convicted, fined $5,000; other order 19 February 2025 View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025
Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd Primary duty NSW Convicted, fined $38,000 11 November 2024 View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024

Sources

Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.

Register entry ea-4679b1ce3f43, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.