Individual AS 3688: fined $6,490, fatigue, 3 February 2023
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 3688. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 3688
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Dandenong Magistrates Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- Victoria
- Hearing date
- 3 February 2023
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 250, minor, substantial, critical, s 301, failing to record information offences, s 322, failing to provide records to record keeper
- Offence
- Fatigue
- Charges
- 14
Facts
On 20 October 2021, a heavy vehicle pulled into the Yarragon Weighbridge Westbound in Victoria and the driver was spoken to by the NHVR Authorised Officers. The driver’s NDWD was inspected by the Officer’s and offences were detected throughout that NDWD. The fatigue offending was detected between 12 August 2021 and 20 October 2021. The failure to record information offences were identified to have occurred between 6 October 2021 and 20 October 2021. 24 instances where the Defendant had failed to provide records to his record keeper (by removing the appropriate sheet from their NDWD and providing it to their employer) were identified between 19 September 2020 and 28 September 2021. These instances were rolled into one count. The Defendant indicated that they were not aware of a number of the rules and on other occasions things simply slipped their mind.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $6,490
Fines under s 250 on the register: $0 to $45,000, median $4,800 across 103 matters. Fines under minor on the register: $6,490 to $6,832, median $6,661 across 2 matters. Fines under critical on the register: $4,800 to $6,832, median $6,490 across 3 matters. Fines under s 301 on the register: $6,490 to $6,832, median $6,832 across 3 matters. Fines under s 322 on the register: $6,490 to $12,730, median $9,354 across 3 matters.
What the record would have shown
Each driver's work and rest hours set against the work diary before the run, with who checked and when. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd | Fatigue | VIC | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Punjab Roadtrains Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd | Fatigue | Not stated | Prohibition notice; prohibition order | Date not stated | View the record of Southern Cross Freight Lines Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-47d8574901b3, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.