Individual AS 4363: fined $1,200, dimension, 11 November 2022
Party
- Party
- Individual AS 4363. The NHVR publishes court outcomes without the defendant's name.
- Type
- Individual
- Role
- Role not stated
- Reference
- AS 4363
The proceeding
- Decision
- Convicted
- Court
- Goulburn Local Court (Local or Magistrates)
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Hearing date
- 11 November 2022
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 102(1)(b)(iii)
- Offence
- Dimension
- Charges
- 1
Facts
The accused was charged with one count of driver not complying with dimension requirements - severe risk. The accused was driving a heavy vehicle combination consisting of a prime mover towing a flatbed trailer. The flatbed trailer had two light vehicles loaded, and a further light vehicle was loaded on a frame fitted to the prime mover. The vehicle was measured at 21.46 meters, exceeding its permitted length of 19 metres. The accused attempted to rely on the New South Wales Class 1 Load Carrying Exemption Notice 2019 (No. 1). However, as the accused was not carrying an indivisible load, and they were not an eligible vehicle under the load and it did not apply. After some discussion, the accused plead guilty. The prosecution made an order under chapter 10 of the HVNL for a Commercial Benefits Penalty Order in the amount of $300. Her Honour afforded the offender the 25% discount for their early plea of guilty. Her Honour noted the maximum penalty. Her Honour expressed that it was a serious matter and that there was a clear commercial benefit. Her Honour ordered he pay a fine of $1,200, with costs and moiety awarded to the NHVR. Her Honour made the Commercial Benefits Penalty Order, noting her discretion to make an order of three times the amount. Her Honour made the order in the amount of $600.
As reported by NHVR.
Penalty
- Fine
- $1,200
Fines under s 102(1)(b)(iii) on the register: $500 to $70,000, median $6,300 across 40 matters.
Orders
- Commercial benefits penalty order
What the record would have shown
The load's height, width and length measured against the vehicle's limits and any permit, recorded at dispatch. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia Campbell | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $5,000; other order | 19 February 2025 | View the record of Georgia Campbell, 19 February 2025 |
| Karl O’Sullivan | Other | NSW | Convicted, fined $7,500 | 1 May 2024 | View the record of Karl O’Sullivan, 1 May 2024 |
| Qube Ports Pty Ltd | Mass | NSW | Enforceable undertaking accepted; enforceable undertaking | Date not stated | View the record of Qube Ports Pty Ltd, Date not stated |
| Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $38,000 | 11 November 2024 | View the record of Capital Lines and Signs Pty Ltd, 11 November 2024 |
| Profect Construction Pty Ltd | Primary duty | NSW | Convicted, fined $45,000 | 4 November 2025 | View the record of Profect Construction Pty Ltd, 4 November 2025 |
Sources
- NHVR: Court outcomes (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-56126e43ccb0, as at 14 October 2026. How the register is built.